Rajwada – A Gem of Indore Cherished In My Memories

During my stay at Indore I heard a lot about the royalty and spectacular architectural style of the palace of the Holkars, which is commonly known as the Rajwada. It dates back in history to 1766 when it was completed by the Holkars. Unfortunately the palace was destroyed due to its exposure to fire in the riots of 1984. Hence it was renovated in March 2007 by H.H Ushadevi Holkar.

As I reached my destination after an elevation of 553m, I was enraptured by the beautiful Indo- Seracenic Maratha style architecture of the Palace. This form of architecture depicts the intermingling and coexistence of the Maratha and Mughal cultures. This embodiment of cultural harmony has been nominated or the UNESCO world heritage awards as well. It is a seven storied structure and stands tall as a fine example of royal grandeur.

Rajwada (Holkar palace) Indore

Rajwada (Holkar palace) Indore | Image Resource : Flickr.com

The Rajwada comprises of two parts, one is located at the heart of Indore and the other stands at the old part of the town. I was spell bound to be a spectator o the palatial structure. As I entered the Palace, I witnessed a lofty archway and a gigantic wooden door that was covered with iron studs. As I walked forward I was greeted a courtyard comprising of the Ganesha hall, many windows and corridors and balconies that depict mughal ornamentation. The courtyard is surrounded by a number of galleried rooms.

The three lower floors are made up of stone whereas the top floors are made using wood. I could also see the cylindrical bastions erected at the four corners of the rectangular building. This seven storied magnificent work of the Holkars stands proudly with its wooden jails, jharokhas and chattries.

This whole structure, especially the courtyard is well planned to suit the tropical climate. Maratha architecture is famous for its visible visual logic, simplicity and great detailing, rhythm and repetition. All these characteristics are well exhibited by the Rajwada. I was enchanted to see the effortless and deviant architecture of the craftsmen of that era. Even the flooring made up of black basalt displays originality in style. I clicked as many pictures as I could in an attempt to gather all these fantastic details of the architectural expertise as I walked back to my hotel.

Leave a Reply

