Kanch Mandir – The Elegant Temple of Glass

As I was Indore for a couple of days more, I wanted to make the most out of it. I was amazed to visit the famous crystalline structure known as Kanch Mandir. It is a Jain temple built somewhere around 1903, by Sir Seth Hukumchand Jain. I have been to many temples earlier, but this was something spell binding. I was astonished to see that the whole structure is actually made of glass. Being there I came to know about its history and also that there are a few more Jain temples across the globe known as Kanch ka Mandir which are made of glass. It immediately came on my wish list to visit a couple of more such temples.

Externally this medieval mansion is made up of white stone, with a canopied balcony and a peak like structure called the shikhara. The interiors are covered with colorful glass panels and mosaics. Not even the floor and the ceiling are left over. As I walked in I was filled with excitement and awe to see the immense beauty and sheen of the place. The structure is made by craftsmen hired from Jaipur as well as Iran. It is built in medieval Jain style architecture, but the innovation lies in the use of multicolored glass panels and mirrors.

Entrance Of Kanch Mandir Indore

Entrance Of Kanch Mandir Indore | Image Resource : wikipedia.org/

The centrally located Garbhagriha comprises of idols of the Jain Tirthankaras, with mirrors attached on both sides so as to give an illusion of infinite images. It is a perfect combination architecture, beauty and science. The more than 50 panels made of multicolored crystals portray the stories related to Jain traditions, concepts of spirituality such as astha- karma, saptavyasan etc. They also depict the major Jain Tirthas and other such episodes related to Jains.

Kanch Mandir Indore

Kanch Mandir Indore | Image Resource : wikipedia.org/

The temple serves as a site for celebration of Jain festivals as well. I was a bit disappointed as clicking pictures of the interior portion of the temple is strictly prohibited. Hence I could only save myself a few pictures of the exterior structure. But whatever it may be, this was the most magnificent and enchanting monument I had visited for whole of my present life. And I will cherish this visit to the wonder structure all my life.

Leave a Reply

