A Divine Trek to Vaishno Devi Temple – Jai Mata Di

The trip to Jammu and Kashmir so far has been quite amazing and wonderful. I had visited many amazing places of interest which I had seen only in films and television. One of the places which I had always longed to visit but never got an opportunity was the Vaishno Devi Shrine located near Jammu in the Katra area.

The Vaishno devi as the name suggests in the place of Hindu Goddess Vaishnavi, a manifestation of Durga. The pilgrimage to Mata Vaishno devi temple is one of the holiest of pilgrimage of our times. The holy caves are thronged by millions of devotees every year.

Pindi Darshan At Vaishno Devi Temple

Pindi Darshan At Vaishno Devi Temple | Image Resource : tourismandfood.com

I was quite excited for this journey and I took the 12 kilometre trek from the base camp at Katra. After this 12 kilometre trek, a pilgrim is blessed with the ‘Darshan’ of Mata vasihno devi inside the cave. These darshans are in the form of natural rock formations called the Pindies.

The trek from Katra to the caves of Mother Goddess was a beautiful and a divine experience. There were many fellow pilgrims with us all shouting slogans in praise of the Goddess. The divine and spiritual atmosphere was an amazing experience. It was the first time I was doing a trek for a religious purpose.

Vaishno Devi Temple

Vaishno Devi Temple | Image Resource : tourismandfood.com

The surroundings in the 12 hour trek gave many opportunities to click some amazing pictures of the nearby landscape. The fellow pilgrims, their emotions and enthusiasm of the trek were also captured by me in my camera. It was amazing o see so many people from different parts of India and world from different socio economic conditions all united to visit and pay respect to Mother Goddess Vaishno Devi.

After the finish of the 12 kilometre trek I went inside the cave and got the darshan of goddess and took her blessings. The moment was quite divine and the experience an unforgettable one. One of my long time wish of visiting the holy shrine got full filled. It was now time I visited other places in this beautiful state of Jammu and Kashmir.

The next place where I went and whose experience I will share through my blog is the Bahu fort.

Leave a Reply

