An Experience As Valuable As The Name – Emerald Lake, Ooty

Ooty is absolutely crammed with places of extraordinary beauty and natural brilliance. The Emerald Lake is one of those names in a very long list of names. One of the most popular places amidst photographers, I just had to visit it myself! I was truly spellbound when I first laid my eyes upon the lake. The sheer number of birds and the variety of them amazed me.

The Emerald Lake is around 25 km from the city of Ooty. A cab or a bus can be taken to reach the destination, and it isn’t very expensive. The lake, though, has its own accommodation facility in the form of the Red Hill Nature Resort nearby. Although the resort offers unmatchable views from inside, I will not recommend it because it’s slightly on the more expensive side.

Emerald Lake, Ooty

Emerald Lake, Ooty | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

The sunrise and the sunset views over the lake is what attracts most of the tourists, and a large plethora of people cannot all be wrong, right? The sights are amazing. I got so lost at the time that I forgot to take even a single photograph at the time, but I don’t regret it because the memory will stay with me forever. Another major attraction you should look out for are the tea plantations nearby. Tea and tea based products can be bought off these plantations, and the owners can even offer you tours of their establishments if you are really nice to them!

The city of Ooty will take care of all your accommodation and food related worries if you are traveling on a tight budget like me. Restaurants are also pretty greatly priced and can be easily found in the city. I would recommend getting prior permission from the forest department for camping, but I wasn’t able to get it myself. Maybe you’ll get lucky.  Anyways each day was wonderful and at the end of each day though we were tired , we couldn’t wait to go and see the next destination and we were all very excited every moment of the day!

Leave a Reply

