Heritage and Hospitability At The Dekeling Resort Darjeeling

I checked out for budgets hotels in Darjeeling with just the basic amenities and I happened to zero in on Dekeling Resort Darjeeling. And to my delight, the resort happened to offer a curious mix of history, scenic beauty and connectivity. The hotel was built by Sir William Ferguson Ducat in 19th century to serve as a summer abode for the British.

Located next to the Green Lawn School, the resort enjoyed a close proximity to the Union Church and the famous Tenzing Rock. As I checked in, I received warm welcome from the hotel staff. The boy who guided me to my hill view room, updated me with some quick facts about the hotel services, room service, travel desk, cab facility for touring and  of course food.

As I entered the room, I found it to be was warm and cozy complete with all the basic amenities necessary for a modern lifestyle. It was neat and clean. The rest room was spacious and well stacked with towels and toiletries.

Dekeling Resort Darjeeling

Dekeling Resort Darjeeling | Image Reosurce : cleartrip.com

As I removed the curtains, there stood the mighty and the oh! so mesmerizing Kanchenjunga! How much I have longed to come to this place and now I am here. I just stood there thinking it to be a dream. For the next few days, every morning I rise, my eyes will open up to the beautiful snow capped hills.

I checked out the travel booklet lying on the side table and a menu card. I could order the food but I decided to walk to the cafeteria and enjoy the local flavors of the hotel. I took a quick hot water shower and climbed down the stars to reach the cafeteria. The ever welcoming waiter came with the menu card. I ordered for Thukpa, a noodle soup very typical of this place. In another fifteen minutes, a steaming bowl full of vegetable and noodles arrived. I took a dip into the soulful, the flavorful noodle soup and not only quenched my hunger pangs but also warmed me up. It was the perfect order keeping in mind the time, place and the overall environ.

Leave a Reply

